AreoGarden: One Way to Grow Food Inside

I finally bought an AreoGarden 2 weeks ago. It seems like an expensive toy, but in the dreary winter I need a chance to ‘tend garden’ every day. I wanted to give it a try and see if it could lift my winter blues. It has a sensor that alerts you when you need to add water or nutrients, and a very bright grow light that is on a timer. It’s really pretty foolproof.Granted, it is a little expensive, but I got my 7 pod  AeroGarden Classic when it went on the Amazon deal of the day for 99.00 and came with the Gourmet Herb Seed Kit, currently it’s 141.50. They do have a 6 pod one that also includes an herb kit on sale now for 99.00, so you could try that one too.

aerogarden.jpgThe Gourmet Herb Seed Kit has chives, 2 kinds of basil, thyme, mint, dill, and parsley. Currently all of my herbs have germinated, and the chives are at about 2 inches. Setting it up was very easy and took about 5 minutes. Just add water, a nutrient tablet, the seed pods, plug it in and you are on your way to harvesting herbs in your kitchen year round.

I know some of you already do grow herbs inside all year, and I’m certainly not implying that the AeroGarden is the only way. It’s just an easy way. And if you are an apartment dweller, it’s a great way to grow fresh herbs, lettuce and more.

The seed kits are expensive at 19.99 for 6 or 7 seed pods, but they do have a AeroGarden Master Gardener Deluxe Kit, so you can use your own seeds. That is not only cheaper in the long run, but allows you to grow a wider variety of plants. Next I’m going to grow some loose leaf lettuce or arugula. Yum! I’d like to get a second AeroGarden to grow lettuce in at work. It would be amazing to cut the lettuce for my lunch right at my desk.

Wondering if it’s green enough for you? Check out this page on the aerogrow site, It answered my questions and it seems like they are trying to do the right thing and improving as they go along.

One Response

  1. My uncle has an aerogarden and loves it! I guess there’s just something to growing something green even though it’s freezing out. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

