Slow Cooker Split Pea Soup

pea1

Still not feeling great and craving comfort food. I’m also cutting down on my daily calories and that makes things even harder when you don’t feel up to making a meal from scratch. So today’s recipe is a simple one, but it makes a ton and it also freezes well.

The slow cooker saves me in so many ways – and when I’m sick it cooks for me while I take a much needed nap. I love my slow cooker…

Slow Cooker Split Pea Soup – serves about 8

  • 1 bag of split peas (I think it’s about 2 -3 cups)
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 potato, chopped
  • 3 carrots, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 Tb dried thyme
  • 1 tsp liquid smoke
  • about 7 cups filtered water – make sure there is at least two inches of water over the other ingredients.

Throw everything in the slow cooker and cook on low for 8 – 10 hours. Puree with an immersion blender and serve with homemade croutons on top. Yum!

Leave a Reply

