Vegan Chickpea Salad Panini

I mentioned mock “tuna” salad in an earlier post. Of course, I couldn’t get it out of my head after that until I made some. The recipe I used is below. To make a panini I used organic white bread and spread the salad over one slice, then covered the top with marinated artichoke hearts. Then grill it on a panini pan or press. I promise you – you’ll be glad you made this!

Vegan Chickpea Salad (mock tuna salad)

  • 1 15 oz can of chickpeas
  • 2 heaping Tb of eggless mayo (or to taste)
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 tsp Garam Masala or curry powder
  • dash of garlic powder (or 1/2 clove fresh)
  • onion salt and pepper to taste

Mash the chickpeas with a fork or potato masher. You can use the food processor if you’re careful. Too long and you’ll have a smooth hummusy like paste instead of a chunky tuna one.

Add in the other ingredients, mix, taste and season again if needed. This is a great lazy day sandwich spread!

One Response

  1. Sounds great…I always have these ingredients on hand (except no panini press), so I’ll have to try this next week when we get back into our usual routine!

Leave a Reply

