My Sleepy Mistake

Last night I decided to be a good housewife and make some hot cereal in the slow cooker for breakfast. Even better, I thought I’d be extra nutritious and use quinoa instead of my usual steel cut oats.

A great idea, and if I hadn’t been half asleep when I did it I would’ve had the best breakfast this morning. Instead I had a pot of bitter nastiness. Why? I forgot to rinse the quinoa. It’s used like a grain but it’s actually a seed. You have to make sure you rinse it well, to get rid of the bitter tasting saponins that surround the seed.

So don’t make the same mistake I did, rinse and rinse it again. My compost pile is happy and well fed at least!

Slow Cooker Breakfast Qunioa – serves 2

  • 1/2 cup quinoa – thoroughly rinsed!!
  • 1 1/2 cup filtered water
  • 1 apple, peeled and chopped
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp clove
  • dash of freshly grated nutmeg

This is the perfect opportunity to use your little dipper slow cooker. Again, don’t be like me – rinse your quinoa well, and combine everything in the slow cooker and cook on low overnight. Add some honey or brown sugar when serving.

Let me know how it turns out for you!

6 Responses

  1. More nutritious than oatmeal? Hmm…. But does it taste better than oatmeal? I don’t know if I have cooked it before, actually. Sounds easy. And great for not tossing the learning lesson into the garbage!

  2. This looks very good. I’m always looking for breakfast ideas for my family. Thank you for sharing.

  3. i’ve heard a lot about Quinoa. this sounds great! Thanks for sharing.

    Renee’
    http://rmboys2.wordpress.com/

  4. I have been wanting to make a hot breakfast in my cp for awhile now. I always forget!

  5. Sounds great 🙂

  6. Kathy,
    I am enjoying searching for you. I guess I lost your email but I found you via google. I love your blog and I will have to try your meyer lemon recipe. Let me know what is up with you and how I can contact you via email.
    LOL,
    Clebert

Leave a Reply

