Budget Menu Plan Monday

I have a ton of boca burgers in the freezer and I’m going to start using them in a dish each week. I’m out of sausage, so I’m going to make some tempeh sausage crumbles from Vegan with a Vengeance and stick that in the freezer for this week and maybe next week too. i have to have some sausage every week! Maybe this weekend I’ll try to make my own vegan sausage from scratch.

I’m also packing lunches for both of us every weekday to save some money. And we’ll eat better than if we went out! This weekend I only bought tvp, tofu, a few red peppers, and splurged on some hot garlic pickles at the farmers market. Yum is all I have to say about that! Plus that’s me keeping to more of a budget – maybe it really will become second nature.

This week or next I’m going to stock up on some brown rice from Costco and with that and all the pasta I have in the pantry I should be set on carbs for the entire winter!

Monday: Thai Red Curry with Tempeh or Tofu with broccoli and cauliflower (Thanks for the idea Thrifty Soaper!)

Tuesday: Ravioli with a creamy vodka sauce and salad with vegan Caesar dressing

Wednesday: Veggie fried rice and steamed dumplings

Thursday: Boca burger quesadilla (or burrito) with refried beans and Brown Rice, Butternut Squash, & Arugula Salad- maybe made with orzo…

Friday: Chicken Fried Boca Burgers with mashed potato and sun chokes and sausage gravy plus some steamed veg from the freezer

Saturday: Slow Cooker Stuffed Acorn Squash with another frozen steamed veg

Sunday: Kidney Bean Okra Gumbo (Mine is similar to this recipe) and maybe some jambalaya too

Check out more menu’s here:

See More Veggie Menus:

5 Responses

  1. Thank you for posting the veggie menus! This looks great. And it’s budget? Fantastic.

    Here’s my first time and veggie menu (also linked on orgjunkie)
    http://jessica.wordpress.com/2008/11/10/menu_plan_monday/

  2. […] more veggie-ful menu plans, visit Geek, Poet, Housewife Wannabe. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Menu Plan MondayMenu Plan MondayMenu Planning […]

  3. Looks like another awesome week. I can’t wait to try your Citrus Black Bean Soup tomorrow!

  4. Hey another Duham-ite, I’m so happy you found me! I think you’ll really love the black bean burger’s. I love your “about me” section, I share many of the same life beliefs (eating locally, creating and experimenting with new foods and recipes, and trying to make the environment a better place)!

  5. Never thought of doing squash in the slow cooker. Sounds good.

    My Menu Monday is at http://myjourney2health.blogspot.com/2008/11/getting-down-to-business.html

Leave a Reply

