Cheesy Broccoli Soup

Broccoli is one of my favorite veggies. I hated it as a kid, but the first time I had cheddar broccoli soup I was sold.

With my partner’s fear of the word vegan, I have to pretend much of what I cook isn’t vegan even if it is. But I also have to indulge her with dairy sometimes as a reward. This is the first time in her life that she’s even eating broccoli, asparagus, and cauliflower. She is the first person of Polish decent that I’ve ever heard of that doesn’t eat cabbage!

This recipe has milk and cheese in it. All you vegans know you can switch out and non-dairy milk and vegan cheese. I would try adding some pureed silken tofu to it too. It would give it some body and a nice creamy texture.

What’s your favorite quick soup? I’d love some links to new recipes!

Cheesy Broccoli Soup

  • 1 head broccoli, chopped (or 3/4 bag frozen)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup filtered water
  • 1 1/2 Tb. Butter or Earth Balance
  • 2 cups organic low fat milk
  • 1 cup organic Colby or mild cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1 tsp. oregano
  • pinch of basil
  • salt and pepper to taste (I use lots of pepper!)

Put water, garlic, broccoli in a sauce pan. Cover and cook over medium heat until broccoli turns bright green, but is still a little firm.

Add milk and puree with an immersion blender.

Next add butter, cheese, and spices and return to medium low heat until the cheese is melted and incorporates into the soup.

Serve with garlic bread or crackers. It tastes even better if you can curl up by the fire while you’re eating it!

Leave a Reply

