Yet Another Vegan Slow Cooker Chili

In my world there is no such thing as too many chili recipes. I love a hearty stew once there’s a chill in the air. When I first became a vegetarian (about 25 years ago), I was just learning how to cook and found Fantastic Foods Vegetarian Chili mix and I was sold. A couple of cans of beans and a can of tomatoes and dinner for a week!

So it goes without saying, even though I am saying it, that I have a soft spot for chili with tvp (textured vegetable protein) in it.  It’s not expensive or hard to work with. And believe it or not, this was the first time I ever made tvp chili from scratch. I reached for the box, looked at the price and realized it was too much money for spices and tvp. Especially when I have some of the best chili powder at home!

‘Meaty’ Slow Cooker Chili

  • 4 cups veggie broth or filtered water
  • 1 1/2 cups dried tvp (You can get it in the bulk aisle at Whole Foods)
  • 1 cup corn (I used frozen organic)
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked beans (I used kidney beans, but pintos, black)
  • 2 cups diced heirloom tomatoes, diced (or 2 – 14 oz can diced tomatoes)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 onion, minced
  • 2 Tb. tomato paste
  • 1 Tb good chili powder
  • 1 tsp. chipotle powder
  • 1 tsp. oregano
  • 1 Tb liquid smoke
  • 1 tsp garlic Tabasco
  • chopped cilantro for garnish

Mix all the ingredients in your slow cooker and cook on low 6 – 9 hours. Serve topped with chopped cilantro.

Slow Cooker Thursday

It’s slow cooker Thursday!
See other great recipes at Diary of a SAHM

4 Responses

  1. Oh YUM, have to try this one for sure.

  2. Sounds like a delicious vegetable chili with lots of flavor.

  3. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I to find It really helpful & it helped me out much. I hope to present something back and help others such as you aided me.

  4. kathy, I love your books (I’m Jessica’s mom) Want to tell you (although you may already know) that the TVP in this chili is almost indistinguishable from hamburger after it sets in the fridge for about 4 days. I was so tickled. It was good first day, but a real favorite on the fourth. Next time I will make the full amount, eat what I want on day 4 and freeze the rest.

    Also, am planning to make your butternut squash macaroni this week. Already have the stuff. While the pasta is cooking, I am going to drain a little jar of diced pimiento and stir it in. Then I will have a pimiento cheezy tasting dish.

    Thanks for all you do!

    – Marlene

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

