Slow Cooker Stuffed Acorn Squash

I made another fall recipe for Slow Cooking Thursday. I’m working on another stew for next week – so stay tuned! Yesterday was World Vegetarian Day, so jump on the bandwagon, and make a veggie slow cooker meal this week!

Slow Cooker Stuffed Acorn Squash

  • 1 Acorn Squash, cut in half lengthwise and seeded
  • 1 cup Rice, precooked (brown is good, wild rice would be nice too)
  • 1 Tb. Dried Cranberries, chopped
  • 1 Tb. Pecans, chopped
  • 4 Meatless Sausage Links, cooked and chopped (you can use a veggie burger if you have one around instead)
  • 1 Clove Garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp. Rosemary, chopped
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Mix everything (except for the squash silly!) in a bowl. You can add a few Tb. of water if the mixture is too dry.

Crumple some aluminum foil into the bottom of your slow cooker. This is to keep the acorn squash from tipping over and spilling out the stuffing. If your squash plays nice, you can skip this. I seem to get uneven ones, so I always do it.

Stuff the squash half with the mixture and set inside the slow cooker on top of the crumpled foil. Cook on low 8 – 10 hours.

A few links if you want to try making your own Vegetarian Sausage:

8 Responses

  1. Awesome – I love acorn squash and I’m always looking for new ways to cook it.

  2. Oh my gosh that sounds good….this is just perfect 🙂

  3. Oh, this sounds great! I can’t wait to try it. Thanks for sharing.

    Renee’
    http://rmboys2.wordpress.com/

  4. Perfect timing! I have been searching for the perfect way to make my acorn squash a meal!

  5. […] Hester (GeekyPoet) presents Slow Cooker Stuffed Acorn Squash posted at Geek, Poet, Housewife […]

  6. I would like to say, excellent site. Im not sure if it has been talked about, however when using Safari I can never get the entire site to load without refreshing several times. Could just be my connection. Thanks

  7. Thanks for stopping by. I’ll do some testing. Since I’m on the free wordpress I can only choose from the themes they have. Plus I can’t edit them. Not nice for a web developer!

    I use chrome and firefox and it seems to work fine in those. If you already have one of those browsers you may want to try that for now. They work on mac, windows, and linux.

  8. Hi to all, the contents present at this web site are actually remarkable for people experience, well,
    keep up the nice work fellows.

Leave a Reply

