I’m Letting Someone Else Plan Dinner

So I’ve been working lots extra and it’s probably going to be like this for the next 6 months. I got a new furnace and a/c unit that needs to be paid off. Not having oil heat this winter will be a reward in itself, but I will not have as much time to think about cooking.

I’ve really found that having a meal plan kept me eating in more, spending less, and well eating better. So I’ve found a few sites that do it for you – for free!

FamilyFun gives you a month of dinners planned out and links to recipes too. They are not all veggie or healthy, but substitutions can fix that easy enough. Tonight is a meatless main dish on their menu – Tex Mex Pumpkin Patties.

At MealsMatter you have to signup but you get to personalize it and plan 3 meals a day if you are that organized!

WovenFare provides you a free weekly pdf of menu plan and recipes after you sign up. There is a new one each week. You can get a personalized one for 7.00 a week, but I’m just going to veganize it myself.

EatingWell has a menu planner that allows you to choose from their database of recipes. This way you really can get a vegetarian menu. It also calculates the calories in a serving and adds up your calories for the day. You can select 3 meals and 2 snacks a day.

Epicurious‘ weekly menu is the one I’m going to try next week. It looks the most appealing and already has a few vegetarian meals built in.

So here’s my menu plan from Epicurious for the weekdays at least:

I’ll use pressed tofu, tempeh, or Trader Joe’s chickenless strips to substitute for the chicken below.

Monday: Black-Bean Quesadillas and Dave’s Tomato and Cucumber Salad

Tuesday: Sesame Crusted Chicken and Cold Sesame Noodles

Wednesday: Mustard-Crusted Tofu with Kale and Sweet Potato and Couscous with Herbs and Lemon

Thursday: Spicy Chicken(less) and Rice with Mesclun Salad

Friday: Oven-Fried Chicken(tofu) and Rice, Bean, and Corn Salad

Is it cheating if I eat this good?

2 Responses

  1. My son likes tofu and I try to find ideas to make for him. Thanks!

  2. […] decided to start my week yesterday, and make one of the dishes on my weekly menu. I’m using Epicurious’ menu this week as a base. Of course, I’ll be […]

Leave a Reply

