Clean Out the Fridge Slow Cooker Pasta Sauce

Slow Cooker Thursday

It’s slow cooker Thursday!
See other great recipes at Diary of a SAHM

I was lazy last week. Ok, so I was lazy this week too! And that means I have some veggies that are teetering on the verge of being compost worthy. I bought a few pounds of “ugly” tomatoes at the farmers market last weekend, and they were ready to use then. Ugly tomatoes are the best bargain at my market – 1.75 a pound instead of 3.00 a pound. And they’re heirloom ones to boot!

My plan is to throw together a big slow cooker of yummy pasta sauce. Since it’s not going to last as long in the fridge, I’m going to freeze them in serving portions. Then I can have some heirloom tomato sauce on my pasta in the fall and winter too!

Slow Cooker Pasta Sauce

  • 10 – 15 heirloom tomatoes in any color combo, chopped
  • 1 sweet onion (like Vidalia), minced
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 bell peppers, minced (yellow and green are nice in this)
  • 1/2 hot pepper, seeds removed and minced [optional]
  • Fresh Rosemary – 2 or 3 shoots
  • 3 Tb. tomato paste
  • 2 Tb. Vegetable Stock Paste
  • Pepper to taste
  • Salt to taste
  • Splash of olive oil
  • Splash of balsamic vinegar

Veggies you have on hand – I’m going to use:

  • 1 eggplant, minced
  • 1 zucchini, minced
  • 1 yellow squash, minced
  • 1/2 jar roasted red peppers
  • A handful of Swiss Chard, cut into thin ribbons

Herbs to add at the very end:

  • left over pesto or pureed basil with a little olive oil
  • fresh oregano, thyme, marjoram, or other herbs you have around, minced

Throw it all in together. Or you can get all fancy and sauté the onion, peppers, and garlic first. I’m planning on cooking the heck out of it. I’m going to cook it overnight on low and see if it needs to go a little longer. If it does, I’ll alter this post accordingly.

Once it looks close to done I toss in my fresh herbs and/or pesto. If you are using dried herbs go ahead and put them in with everything else.  As always flavor to your liking, and taste throughout. No one knows what you like better than you!

4 Responses

  1. Oh my goodness that looks great, thank you for sharing 🙂

  2. That sauce sounds really fresh and delicious!

    Have a great week,

    Sherry

    http://frugaldomesticgoddess.blogspot.com/2008/08/slow-cooking-thursday.html

  3. Hello – found this recipe through Google and just wanted to tell you that I like your style! I have prepared this recipe and it is even now in the slow cooker. I used tomatoes from our garden – here in Greece they don’t have the concept of heirloom tomatoes, but the tomatoes are very good. I followed your recipe pretty much as stated, except I had only 1 green pepper, no yellow squash (not available here), and put no hot pepper (husband objects. I usually add a little hot pepper sauce or flakes to my own portion. I did saute the veggies first, as my onions never seem to get done enough in the slow cooker without that step. The slow cooker is full practically to the top, and, like you, I plan to freeze most of it for the colder season, when fresh, tasty tomatoes will be a memory.
    Betty in Greece

  4. Betty,

    Thank you so much for trying out my recipe. I’d love to hear some of your recipes. I don’t cook much Greek food, but I’d love to learn!

Leave a Reply

