Spring Harvest Quesadilla

See, I told you I would really write this week! Even though I am a bit preoccupied with redoing my resume, I wouldn’t have time to write in my blog if I get a new job. Well, at least not during work hours… They love me here and pay me well, they just don’t have very much for me to do.

Last night I made a yummy clean out the fridge dish that was super quick and tasty too. As strange as it may seem, the recipe is for 1 quesadilla. My partner is anti-veggie and I have been pushing the veggies lately, so she got to have a plain cheese one which is her favorite. Plus I know that she’s going to eat more veggies than she can even comprehend as soon as I’m harvesting from my garden.

I was originally going to add some fresh corn in the mix, but I decided to make Veganomicon’s corn pudding with coconut milk. It was fabulous – you should make it if you haven’t already. Cheryl was crazy about it.

Spring Harvest Quesadilla

  • 2 taco size low carb whole wheat tortillas (just cause they have less calories)
  • Handful of shredded cheese of your choice (dairy or non-dairy) I used Kroger brand shredded quesadilla cheese. It has no hints about what kind of cheese it really is, so I’m pretending it is a nice queso.
  • 1/2 shallot minced
  • 1 garlic clove minced
  • 1 small or 1/2 medium zucchini cut into bite size pieces
  • Big handful of rainbow chard cut into thin ribbons and chop the stems in small pieces
  • 1/2 t cumin
  • Pinch ground chili pepper (can use any kind you like – I have a blend from SEEDS at the farmers market)
  • Salsa of your choice (my choice was salsa verde)

Heat a non-stick pan, then add shallot and garlic and saute for a couple of minutes. Then add zucchini, chard, and spices. Saute until the veggies are just the way you like them. I like my greens cooked well, so I added them before the zucchini.

Heat another non-stick pan if you are (like me) too lazy to clean out this pan. Put a tortilla on it and then spread your veggies evenly over the tortilla and cover with cheese and the second tortilla. Cook until browned on one side, flip and cook until brown on the other.

It will take less time on the second side, and even less time on the first side of the second quesadilla you cook. I’m not sure why this is true, but I always burn the first side of the second one.

This is a great fast meal. I served a can of Trader Joe’s Refried Black Beans and the corn pudding and it was yummy. It would be great with just a salad.

One Response

  1. Quesadilla’s are one of the easiest things to make, but I guess a lot of people dont realize theres so many things you can do with a Quesadilla. This is def a good recipe to blow those sorts of peoples minds lol. Good Job!

Leave a Reply

