Busy Gardener/Lazy Vegetarian Menu Monday

It’s summer and if I’m not feeling hot and lazy, I’m out in the yard working on my veggie garden or a flower bed. This is the time of the year that my inside chores suffer endlessly. And the time of the year I feel most overwhelmed.

I mean how can anyone work full time, have a functional kitchen garden, make new flower beds, shop, cook 2 meals a day, and keep the house up too? And if that’s not enough I’m doing yoga and some aerobics every morning before work. I’m hoping it will keep me calm and more able to face the to do list that has become my life. (And maybe my butt will get smaller!)

Thank goodness I have a partner to do the laundry and mow the yard or I would really be freaking out!

Just when I get the deck cleaned off and some flowers are blooming – the mosquitoes are ready to feast on me. Every spring I start off optimistic, goading myself into believing it won’t be as hot, the mosquitoes won’t be as plentiful, and the neighborhood noises will be less annoying.

Then June hits and it gets to 100 degrees and I walk out to see if I have any new baby veggies and come back in with 10 – 15 mosquito bites. Also on my mini walk around my veggies beds I find my arch enemy – THE APHIDS. Yes, the aphids are back again this year and of course out to get me. And last week I found the wooly creatures that I believe are wooly aphids. I believe they have sucked the vibrant green out of my scarlet runner beans.

Anywho – that’s why my dinner list is less impressive this week. I’m working on balance. It will only be in the 80’s this week, so I’m going to be gardening every night this week if I can. And playing some wii tennis if the rain gods listen to my pleas…

Monday: Indian with store bought naan (I know I’m lame!)

Tuesday: Bulgar with veggies and amromatic spices (recipe coming…)

Wednesday: It’s just me – so leftovers with a salad a wine out on the deck

Thursday: Mixed-bean Casserole with Sausage

Friday: Slow cooker Brown Rice and Squash Crockpot “Risotto”

Saturday: Out to dinner

Sunday: No idea what I’m making except another ice cream experiment!

You too can participate in Menu Plan Monday, just go over to I’m an Organizing Junkie and add your menu to Mr. Linky – or just look at everyone else’s menus.

2 Responses

  1. I think your meals sound fab! We eat mostly vegan at home so I look forward to checking back here for inspiration. (and there is nothing wrong with store bought naan!)

  2. I don’t think it is lame at all to buy store-bought naan. Or if it is, I’m lame too as I never make it myself. 😀 I think this sounds like a beautiful plan, and the fact that it is helping you to keep balanced is what makes it truly impressive. Good work!

Leave a Reply

