Fresh and Local Menu Monday

Happy Monday! I had a lovely visit to the Durham Farmer’s market early on Saturday. Everything was so beautiful it was hard to choose what to get.

I’m continuing to broaden my consumption of local veggies, and eating out less. This weekend was an eating out fest. At least one night we ordered pizza’s from Pop’s, who uses local ingredients whenever possible. I had a lovely pizza with fresh mozzarella, green peppers, onions, green olives, artichoke hearts and goat cheese. But if I had some pre-made pizza crusts, I would have made it myself, and saved some money on top of it. I guess I will have to go to a normal supermarket today.

This week may end up pasta heavy in order to get my partner to ingest this many new-to-her veggies. At least now she eats asparagus and broccoli with out making a big icky face!

Ingredients of the week and recipe ideas from some cool food blogs:

Asparagus

Baby Turnips

Broccoli

Broccoli Rabe

Cauliflower

Collards

Fennel

Golden Beets

Green Garlic Scapes (flower stalks of the garlic plant)
My first time seeing them in my life, but I’m up for a new veggie experience – how about you?

I hope you guys like the multiple choice menu of the week. I am going to cook like a mad woman this week, so I promise a report before next week. Also I will try to sneak in a slow cooker recipe, but it may not happen until next week.

You too can participate in Menu Plan Monday, just go over to I’m an Organizing Junkie and add your menu to Mr. Linky.

Leave a Reply

