Recipe: Vegan Asian Black Eyed Pea Soba Noodles

Slow Cooker Thursday

It’s slow cooker Thursday!
See other great recipes at Diary of a SAHM

Adapted from Fresh from the Vegetarian Slow Cooker

Even my friend who has hated black eyed peas her whole life liked this. If you wanted to get really sneaky you could puree the beans and greens for super picky eaters. You can substitute any pasta if you don’t have soba noodles, but they are super delicious!

Asian Black Eyed Pea Soba Noodles – makes about 7 servings

* 3 cups cooked Black-eyed peas (1/2 a small package dried)
* Carrots, raw, 2 medium In chunks
* Swiss Chard, 4 cup, chopped (rainbow chard is pretty and in season right now)
* Garlic, 2 cloves
* Ginger Root, 1 tsp
*Soy Sauce, 1 tbsp
* Japanese Noodles, Soba, 1 package about 12 oz. (made with buckwheat)

First off, either start dried peas in the slow cooker the night before. I cooked the whole package and save half for a meal later this week. I put the peas in right before I went to bed, and cooked them on high all night. If you have canned black eyed peas you can skip this step.

In the slow cooker combine the cooked peas, chunky carrots, chopped chard, minced garlic, soy sauce, and minced ginger.

Cook for 6 – 10 hours depending on when you are ready for dinner.

Cook soba noodles and drain. Serve in a bowl topped with pea mixture.

A friend of mine said she’s like this with rice, so feel free to try it that way. You can lower the sodium by using low sodium soy sauce or leaving it out completely.


Amount Per Serving
Calories 262.6
Total Fat 0.9 g
Saturated Fat 0.1 g
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.2 g
Monounsaturated Fat 0.1 g
Cholesterol 0.0 mg
Sodium 710.1 mg
Potassium 737.5 mg
Total Carbohydrate 57.3 g
Dietary Fiber 6.1 g
Sugars 4.1 g
Protein 11.4 g
Vitamin A 175.6 %
Vitamin B-12 0.0 %
Vitamin B-6 12.0 %
Vitamin C 34.8 %
Vitamin D 0.0 %
Vitamin E 9.8 %
Calcium 17.3 %
Copper 14.4 %
Folate 10.5 %
Iron 24.8 %
Magnesium 34.0 %
Manganese 50.7 %
Niacin 10.8 %
Pantothenic Acid 6.9 %
Phosphorus 16.7 %
Riboflavin 9.7 %
Selenium 1.5 %
Thiamin 18.8 %
Zinc 8.2 %
12 Responses

  1. This sounds good, thakn you for sharing 🙂

  2. Sounds good. Thanks for sharing.

    Renee’

  3. This looks intrewsting. Thanks for sharing!

    MJ

  4. I haven’t eaten black-eyed peas. The soba noodles sound good and the swiss chard has lots of great vitamins. Thanks for the vegetarian recipe.

  5. this is such a neat dish—I really like the sound of everything. We can’t have soba noodles, but I bet it would work fine with brownrice spaghetti.

    black eyed peas are good luck—I’m all about good luck!

    xxo
    steph

  6. Hi! I’m not a big black eyed peas fan but my daughter loves them and my husband loves Soba noodles. This sounds like a winner!

  7. This looks great – I have a fresh package of soba I can use, too. I still don’t have a slow-cooker… But I’ve heard you can just use a casserole dish in an oven and it comes out similarly. I’ll try it soon!

  8. Sounds delicious!

    For your daily dose of vintage goodness & a bit of silliness, stop by Confessions of an Apron Queen, the home of Vintage Thingies Thursdays.

  9. It is a splendid site.
    I linked so that your site could visit it from my site.
    Please link by all means with my site.
    http://cookingrecipe001.blogspot.com/

    Because I show various recipes, please visit the all of you.
    http://cookingrecipe001.blogspot.com/

    If a site and you that it is possible, and a big connection comes,
    and it was watched comment by each other by linking have you visit it,
    I am happy at all. And I pray for your good luck.

  10. I will make this.

  11. […] Asian Black Eyed Pea Stew […]

  12. I found this new product called Happy Pho by this company called Star Anise Foods – it’s a tasty Vietnamese brown rice noodles soup that I’m literally addicted to as I can get a nutritious vegan meal together in 10 mins. You can get them at Amazon.com or grocery stores in Northern California. Yum! ttp://staranisefoods.com/find-us.aspx

Leave a Reply

