Vegan (-a-gogo) Menu Plan Monday

We went out a few extra times last week, so I didn’t cook as much as planned. The jambalaya was by far the best dish of the week. I’ll post the final recipe I used on a separate post later today.

Monday: Vegetarian Times Slow Cooker Spinach Lasagna I added tomato paste to the tempeh mix, and some bottled sauce because it looked a little dry to be cooking all day. To make it vegan, just mash some soft tofu or better yet use this recipe for a more proper tasting tofu ricotta.

Tuesday: Slow and Easy White Bean Cassoulet

Wednesday: Chickpea cutlets with mustard sauce from Veganomicon

Thursday: Beef-less Broccoli Lo Mein and Wonton soup

Friday: Tempeh con frijoles – only I’m going to try mine in the slow cooker and this week I’m really going to make it!

Saturday: Slow Cooker Corn Chowder and homemade bread (from the bread machine)

Sunday: Snobby Joes

You too can participate in Menu Plan Monday, just go over to I’m an Organizing Junkie and add your menu to Mr. Linky.

I’ve been using a lot of tempeh lately, and I know some of you haven’t used it before. It looks kinda scary when you first open the package, but remember it is just a fermented soy food – one with a great texture. If you use tofu often, you will be surprised with tempeh’s sturdiness, and the fact it does have more flavor on it’s own. I still prefer to have it mixed in with sauce or a marinade.

You can find it in most larger groceries (Kroger, Harris Teeter, Lowes Foods, and Food Lion in my area) in the produce section, with other refrigerated products like tofu and Lightlife products. Natural food stores such as Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s will have it as well.

Tempeh has a meatier texture that most people love, and it mellows the flavor if you boil or marinate it before adding it to your dish. In the lasagna above, you don’t have to do either since it will be mixed in with sauce and spinach. It’s really a great first tempeh dish to try. It’s my first time using this particular recipe, so I’ll post tomorrow if I would make any other changes next time.

Why use tempeh at all? First off, it’s less processed than tofu. And while I do use lots of Boca products, it’s nice to pare dawn the processing in other dished I prepare. It has a more fiber and protein than tofu and more nutritional info can be found here. And even Recipe Zaar has a ton of tempeh recipes, so find one that interests you and give it a try!

One Response

  1. Hey Thanks!

Leave a Reply

