Recipe – Vegan Black Bean and Sweet Potato Chili

Slow Cooker Thursday

It’s slow cooker Thursday!

Another super easy vegetarian chili that can be made with ingredients that are probably in your pantry now. This is my default party dish.

Other than the cooking time, it takes about 10 or 15 minutes to put the while things together. I cook my beans in the slow cooker the before I go to bed and add the rest of the ingredients in the morning. You could always substitute canned black beans if you don’t have enough time to cook them from scratch.

1 pkg. dried black beans
2 sweet potatoes cubed (I don’t peel mine, but I usually buy organic ones)
1 can diced tomatoes (can be with garlic or chilis)
1T – 5T Chili powder (to taste – I use about 4T usually)
1T unsweetened cocoa (really it makes a rich sauce)
1T garlic powder

Before you go to bed put dry beans and cut up sweet potatoes in a crock pot with water about 3 – 4 inches above them. Cook on high all night.

When you get up in the morning, add tomatoes and spices to taste. Add more water if needed. Cook on low all day. The sweet potatoes ‘melt’ into the chili, so you can hide veggies from kids and picky spouses.

You can cook more or less depending on your schedule. It reheats and freezes well, so don’t be afraid of leftovers.
A ready to eat chili dinner will welcome you home!

If you’re making it for a group of people (or party), you can dress it up with an assortment of toppings for your guests to choose from. (plus they’ll think you worked lots harder than you did!) Here are a few that I have used:

  • minced fresh onions
  • salsa
  • sour cream
  • shredded cheese
  • green chilis
  • chopped fresh tomato
  • diced avocado
  • plenty of bottled hot sauces to choose from
Nutritional Info
  • Servings Per Recipe: 8
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories: 221.9
  • Total Fat: 0.9 g
  • Cholesterol: 0.0 mg
  • Sodium: 256.3 mg
  • Total Carbs: 42.3 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 12.9 g
  • Protein: 12.7 g
12 Responses

  1. This looks interesting. I may try it with canned black beans. Thanksfor sharing!

    MJ

  2. Sounds great! Thanks for sharing.

    Renee’
    http://rmboys2.wordpress.com/

  3. Sounds really healthy and good!

  4. This sounds delicious!!Thanks for sharing!

  5. What a unique chili recipe using sweet potatoes! This would be good with white beans too!

  6. Sounds wonderful thank you for sharing πŸ™‚

  7. Great recipe, sounds delicious πŸ™‚

  8. yum! I bookmarked this!
    pst, in your title, you have “blank” instead of black beans. might get some weird google hits…
    -steph

  9. Mmm, this sounds really good!

  10. Looks good. I’m not sure why you’d use garlic powder over real garlic though. The flavour is so much better. I’ll do it without the slow cooker as mine died many years ago.. + I like spending time in the kitchen with pots of food boiling and bubbling away πŸ™‚

  11. Hi Tom,

    Thanks for stopping by! I love spending time in the kitchen too. That why I’m a housewife wannabe. It’s my idea of a good time!

    I prefer fresh garlic as well, but I wanted to present this as a dinner a busy Mom can make in no time, and very little stirring. One of my closest friend is a mother or a one year old and some days she doesn’t have time to think of making a meal.

    I’m a huge slow cooker fan since I work 9-5. I can put it all together in the morning and have dinner waiting when I get home.

    Now lately when I am in a hurry (I prepare my crockpot right before I leave for work), I used a frozen crushed garlic clove. I use the ones from Trader Joe’s, but you can make your own mini cubes at home too.

  12. […] guests arrive, heat up a big crockpot of chili. You can use your favorite recipe, or make this easy sweet potato black bean chili from scratch. You’ll have to put the beans on the night before, but after that it takes […]

Leave a Reply

