Vegan bean balls were a hit!

The bean balls from Veganomicon: The Ultimate Vegan Cookbook p.189 were amazing. I was a little worried that it would take to much time to make them, since I didn’t make them ahead of time and wanted to eat in less than an hour. But I was so wrong! Just dump ingredients into a bowl, smash some beans and mix everything together and make little balls. I cooked mine in the oven using mini-muffin trays. I read a tip on making meatballs that did it that way, and it helped me keep them all a consistant size. They took about 25 minutes to cook.

I actually did not make any changes to the recipe, which is unusual for me.  You have a choice to use steak sauce or tomato paste, and I have to say I felt like the steak sauce took it to another level. I served them over whole wheat angel hair with a bottled organic tomato sauce.

I had some left over, so I’ve frozen them for a bean ball sub later on. Honestly, I’m looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

