Vegetarian Recipe – Vegan Pepper “Steak”

I wanted to share the lunch I made yesterday because it turned out pretty good. I know, I really need to start taking pictures, so you can see it too.

I used lightlife steak strips for this dish, they are low in calories, but as all premade foods – a little high in sodium. I’m trying to reduce the amount of salt I eat, but sometimes convenience trumps that.

Serves 2 (but can easily be multiplied)

  • 1 package steak strips
  • 1/2 pepper of any (or assorted) colors in strips
  • 1/2 onion in strips
  • 2 Tbl vegetarian worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 cup (or s) Whole Foods 365 Ginger Soy Sauce (if you don’t have a whole foods or feel like making it from scratch I found a recipe here that I want to try.)

Heat a non-stick pan (or a spray or 2 of oil, or in a pinch a little water), once hot add onion strips. Once they start to be translucent, add the peppers and steak strips. Through out this entire process you’ll need to keep stirring so the food doesn’t stick. Once the peppers are about as done as you like them, add the sauces.

Serve over steamed brown rice, or add cooked whole wheat spaghetti to make a lo mein. During the summer I think I’ll try it as a steak salad with raw peppers instead of cooked, and serve it over super crunchy lettuce.

Leave a Reply

