Veggie Menu Planning Monday – Getting Healthier in 2010!

I have been on vacation and am finally really tired of eating out. We have a ton of January birthdays to celebrate so that means eating out 2 more times this month. But last week was a winner on eating healthy and it’s always great to start the new year off on the right foot.

GeekySpouse and I are really trying to keep our 2010 goals of eating better and exercising. Cooking at home and keeping track of calories has been the only way I’ve gotten anywhere. I miss my younger days when I worked out enough to eat whatever I want. But perhaps if I can get to the y at least 5 times a week I can shed the pounds that are keeping me from having the energy I want. Wish me luck!

I’m trying to add more iron and potassium to my diet. If you have any good recipes leave me a link in the comments. It’s ok if it’s meaty – I will just make a veggie version.

I’m also going to concentrate on posting more recipes this year and possibly starting a new slow cooking blog. I’ll let you know more about that next week!

Breakfast of the week: Kashi Heart to Heart cereal instead with unsweetened vanilla almond milk with banana or dried apricots

Sweet of the week: Pistachio-apricot oatmeal cookies

Lunch Soup of the week: Spinach and dal soup (I subbed unsweetened soy milk for the milk and olive oil for the butter)

Monday: Cauliflower Bisque with Buttered Breadcrumbs (make it vegan using this cashew goat cheese substitute or just use some soy yogurt instead) with arugula salad with almonds and dried berries with blasamic dressing

Tuesday: Dinner out with Faith and Christy

Wednesday: Sweet potato black bean chili quesadillas with some sautéed greens tucked in and spanish rice for good measure (freeze leftover spanish rice for another meal)

Thursday: Dinner out with Jenny

Friday: BBQ riblets with mashed potatoes, steamed broccoli, carrots, and green beans

Saturday: Butternut Squash Sage Pasties, arugula salad with roasted veg with blasamic dressing (alter recipe with no parm cheese and sub pecans for pine nuts)

Sunday: Whole wheat pasta with leftover veggies (clean out the fridge sauce)

5 Responses

  1. Your menu looks delicious. I have a half vegetarian family so I’m always looking out for new veg. recipes. Your butternut squash pasties are going to go on next week’s menu!

  2. Oh man, your menu sounds so good I can hardly stand it!

    Those pasties sound incredible. I am a total sucker for butternut squash and sage, especially as a ravioli filling, so I bet these would blow my mind.

    We both have the same vegan “goat cheese” recipe in our menus this week! I’m putting mine in a Dutch oven pasta casserole-type thingie. Have you made it before? This will be the first time for me.

  3. Wow! Sounds like you have a yummy week ahead! The pistachio-apricot oatmeal cookies sound scrumptious!

  4. If you’re looking to add iron and potassium to your diet, consider eating more raisins and bananas. Raisins are loaded with iron, and bananas are a good source of potassium. There’s a yummy banana curry sauce at Allrecipes here:
    http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Curried-Banana-Sauce/Detail.aspx
    And you can get free cookbooklets from Sun-Maid Raisins that have yummy raisin meals.

    Good luck on your healthy eating goals! Sounds like you are really motivated. :)

  5. Thanks for the ideas. I am keeping track of it at sparkpeople and even with both of those, winter squash, greens, and salmon I can’t make the daily min which is like 4500. I’m starting to wonder if anyone else gets that much either…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

