Vegetarian Slow Cooker Pumpkin White Bean Lasagna

Insanely easy. In fact people will think you made a gourmet lasagna from scratch. It takes about 15 minutes to put together in the morning. But it’s worth it to come home to a healthy tasty dinner that’s not your everyday lasagna.

This is a quick and dirty recipe, but if you have more time you can certainly cook your beans, marinara sauce, and pumpkin from scratch.

Vegetarian Slow Cooker Pumpkin White Bean Lasagna

  • 1 15 oz. can cooked pumpkin (organic if possible)
  • 16oz. ricotta (low fat) (substitute pureed tofu for a vegan option or use Pumpkin Tofu “Ricotta” – recipe below)
  • 3/4 package of whole wheat lasagna (I got my at target – it cooks up really well)
  • jar organic marinara sauce (I used Bertolli’s and it was really pretty good)
  • 1 can cooked white beans (low or no salt is best, and organic if you can find it)
  • Handful of sun dried tomatoes minced

You can skip oiling your slow cooker if you’re brave, but it would be best to put a spray or two of olive oil to make the clean up easier later on.

In one bowl mix the ricotta and the entire contents of pumpkin. It will look a little odd, but I promise you it tastes great!

You are going to need to break off the corners of one side on each piece of the lasagna noodles so that they fit snuggly in the crock pot. You can do this now, or as you go – which either one is easiest for you.

You will repeat the following layers until you get about 2 inches from the top of the slow cooker. You can make fewer thicker layers or more thin layers depending on your preference. I like lots of layers myself.

  1. Spread thin layer of sauce covering the floor of the slow cooker
  2. Put in a single layer of whole wheat lasagna noodles
  3. Now spread some of the cheese pumpkin mixture
  4. Spread another thin layer of sauce
  5. Put on some of the white beans, trying to keep them spread out instead of clumps
  6. Sprinkle some of the sun dried tomatoes on top of the beans

Repeat above ending with a last layer of lasagna noodles and top that with sauce.

Cook on low for about 8 hours. It’s ok to leave it longer if you need to.

If you want to top it with shredded mozzarella don’t do it now or it will cook hard and nasty on top. Instead, once the lasagna is ready to eat, top it with shredded cheese and put the whole slow cooker in the oven to melt it.

For a vegan version you can use this as a filling:

Pumpkin Tofu “Ricotta”

  • 1 container tofu
    (soft or firm)
  • 1 15 oz. can organic pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
    (optional, adds a more cheesy flavor)
  • 1 Tb. Italian seasoning
  • 1 tsp. onion powder
    (or 1/2 tsp onion salt and leave out the extra salt)
  • 2 cloves crushed garlic
    (or 1/2 tsp garlic powder)
  • 1 Tb olive oil
  • 3 sun dried tomatoes, re-hydrated
    (pour boiling water over them and let them sit for a few minutes)
  • salt and pepper to taste

In a food processor blend the olive oil and sun dried tomatoes until you have a paste. (It’s ok if there are still some lumps in it). Add the rest of the ingredients, blend until creamy. Add a little water if you need to thin the mixture. Taste and adjust seasonings.

19 Responses

  1. Oh this sounds REALLY good, YUM!

  2. How long does it need to cook in the slow cooker for?

  3. Sorry about leaving that out. I cook all my slow cooker recipes while I’m at work, so they cook about 8 – 9 hours on low heat.

    You can always cook it on high for about half the cooking time, but the flavors won’t meld quite as well.

  4. I can’t wait to try this! I’m going to make it tomorrow :) I bought some ingredients to try to make lasagna in my crockpot for the first time and I was searching for a recipe and came across yours. Luckily I have a can of pumpkin handy!

  5. That combination sounds really delicious! I don’t have a slow cooker, but am pretty sure I could adapt it for the oven… thanks for the idea!

  6. [...] Pumpkin White Bean Lasagna [...]

  7. [...] Slow Cooker Pumpkin White Bean Lasagna [...]

  8. What size can of pumpkin?

  9. Awesome. I have been looking for good vegan lasagne or two or three.

  10. I cooked this today with silken tofu.It really turned out great, and I was surprised at how cheesy it tasted. I had been missing a good lasagne since I stopped eating a lot of cheese. Awesome.

  11. I finally made this and it’s AMAZING. Thanks!

  12. I just got a link to this from @capitalmom on Twitter. I can’t wait to try it!!! Yum!!

  13. Can you bake it in the oven instead?

  14. Sure, you can bake it in the oven. I’d cover it with foil while it was baking too.

  15. Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with Search Engine Optimization?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m
    not seeing very good success. If you know of any please
    share. Thank you!

  16. Hi there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where
    I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  17. I have been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any
    interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  18. I need to to thank you for this fantastic read!! I absolutely
    loved every little bit of it. I have got you book-marked to check out new stuff you
    post…

  19. There is certainly a great deal to find out about
    this topic. I like all the points you’ve made.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

