Recipe – Vegan Slow cooker White Chili

Slow Cooker Thursday

It’s slow cooker Thursday!

Who says all veggie chili is the same? I made this yesterday and it turned out great. It was my first time, so I was prepared if it didn’t go over. It’s quick to put together and it cooks all day in the Crockpot so it ready and waiting when you get home! I made it a little different than I listed on menu plan Monday – mostly I was too lazy to make beans from scratch.

White vegan chicken chili

  • 2 cans white beans
  • 2 cups veggie broth
    (or water mixed with 1Tbl chicken-less seasoning)
  • 1/2 chopped onion
    (if you are really pressed for time you could use onion powder)
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1Tbl chopped cilantro
    (I used the little freezer cubes from Trader Joe’s – they have garlic and basil too!)
  • Lightlife chicken strips
  • 1 small can green chilies
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 Tbl oregano
  • 1/2 tsp coriander
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne
    ( I used a blend of dried crushed spicy peppers that I got at the farmer’s market)
  • 1/4 tsp cloves

Here’s the best part – dump everything except for the “chicken” into the slow cooker and cook on low for 6 – 9 hours. Add chicken about 15 minutes before you want to eat. Cook until “chicken” is warmed through, you may want to turn it up to high to accomplish this if you’re impatient like me.

Another slow cooker recipe that looks good from the list is spaghetti squash casserole, warning – music starts playing, but you can turn it off on the lower right hand side. It uses tuna, and you could substitute slightly mashed chickpeas to make it vegan! I’m going to have to make some variation of this in the next few weeks.

11 Responses

  1. this sounds great!
    and why oh why did I not know there were little freezer cubes of spices at TJ’s? I practically live there! I’m gonna check those puppies out.
    -steph

  2. How many cups of veggie broth? Looks like a delicious veggie chili.

  3. Whoops! It’s corrected now. I used 2 cups.

  4. Looks good. Thanks for sharing!

    MJ

  5. sounds wonderful! Thanks for sharing.

    Renee’

    http://rmboys2.wordpress.com/

  6. Sounds great, thank you for sharing :)

  7. This looks good – just got a deal on dried Great Northerns for a buck a bag. I’ll be tempted to add those vegan “ribs” for the flavor.

  8. Would you recommend lima beans?

  9. Paul,

    Lima beans should work fine. I usually use navy beans myself.

    Kathy

  10. [...] Vegan Slow Cooker White Chili [...]

  11. If you wear weight gloves, there might not be enough space for your hands.
    Some people utilize an exercise ball in place of a weight bench since a lot of the same exercises can
    be done using either. Inhale as you lift the weights and exhale when
    you release each weight.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

